Interview with Fantasy/Paranormal Author, Karilyn Bentley

I’ve decided to start hosting authors on my blog once a month. They will be from different genres.

DSC_4616 copyMy first interview is with Karilyn Bentley, who writes Fantasy and Paranormal Romance for The Wild Rose Press and has seven books published. She resides in North Texas, and by day is a research coordinator at a busy oncology practice. According to Karilyn, that means she helps run cancer trial. Pretty impressive.

Thank you for joining me on my blog today, Karilyn.
Thank you for having me, Anita

How long have you been writing? I started writing when I realized a cube farm was not a good working environment. I thought, what could I do so I could stay home and eat bon-bons? I had a couple of ideas floating around and I’ve always liked writing so I wrote a book. I still work the day job and have no bon-bons in the house. I had to hand slap myself about the cube farm. I’m thinking what type of farming is that? Took me a bit to figure out what you meant. I wouldn’t want to work in an environment where I’d have to work in a room full of cubicles.

What is your Work in Progress? The second book in the Demon Huntress series. The first book is “Demon Lore.” I love the cover!

Where do you like to write? I have an office that I like to write in. Although since we’ve gotten a puppy, I’m more likely to be found writing at the kitchen table. The puppy likes all her humans in one place.

What is on your desk right now? A digital picture frame, mouse pads (but no mouse), tea, phone, various papers writing related and not, a lamp, essential oils, candles, sage smudge stick and my wedding photo album. And the computer. It’s a mess (the desk, not the computer)
???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Are you a morning, afternoon or night person? More of a morning or afternoon person. I’m definitely not a night owl. I do good to stay up to midnight on New Year’s Eve. I don’t know how you find time to write. I write between eight and nine at night.

Are you a plotter or a pantser? A pantser. Plotting too much kills the story for me. That’s the way I operate, too.

What do you like to read? Anything with a happy ending. Romance, mysteries, the occasional thriller, fantasies.

Do you have any pets? Two dogs. Hell Hound is an old, gimpy Lab/Bloodhound mix and Crazy Puppy is his polar opposite. She’s a lab/border collie mix.

What do you to celebrate publishing a new book? Cheer

perf5.000x8.000.inddHere is the blurb for “Demon Lore”

Gin Crawford has enough problems dealing with her empath abilities. Finding out she’s the world’s newest demon-slayer is the last thing she needs. Unfortunately, when she slips on a mysterious bracelet she is given no other choice. On the plus side, her new gig comes with Tall, Dark and Handsome, a mage who may or may not have her best interests at heart. Thrust into a power-play between good and evil, Gin must choose a side before she becomes the next victim in the ongoing battle.

Links to buy
Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00PKY3CC4
The Wild Rose Press: http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=244_235_209&products_id=5972
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/demon-lore-karilyn-bentley/1120908234?ean=2940150196629

Contact Info:
Website: http://www.karilynbentley.com
Faceboook: https://www.facebook.com/KarilynBentleyAuthor
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/karilynbentley1
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/karilynbentley

4 thoughts on “Interview with Fantasy/Paranormal Author, Karilyn Bentley

  1. Karilyn, we live in the same place, North Texas. Being a Texas Valley girl myself, though, it’s way too cold for me here. I love puppies and hounds. I grew up with dachshunds, but now have a maltipoo. Having a demanding day job plus writing is tough. I used to do that and am not certain how I survived? Sounds like you’re doing great!!! Love your cover, too. Happy New Year to you.

Leave a Reply

